an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

L’Oreal Colour Riche Anti-Aging Lipstick: My Face Looks Younger!

Posted by Rosepixie on June 16, 2010

This is a commercial for L’Oreal’s Colour Riche Anti-Aging Lipstick.

She really does claim that her whole face looks younger because of a lipstick.  Seriously?  Is this magic lipstick?  Because I’m pretty sure your face looks flawless because you’re a supermodel and have an army of make-up artists and digital touch-up techs to make it look however you or L’Oreal want it to look.

And the explanation for how the lipstick works is pretty weak.  It’s got some special stuff in the middle that’s supposed to plump and firm lips and is lusciously surrounded by color so bright you can’t tell how plump or firm the lips wearing the color really is in the first place.  How that amounts to making your whole face look younger, I’m not sure.

Basically, this whole ad felt like a lot of smoke and mirrors and empty promises for women who have been taught that looking a day over eighteen is tantamount to being dead.  I’m not impressed and found it annoying enough that it might come to mind next time I’m shopping and make me stay away from anything with L’Oreal on it.

2 Responses to “L’Oreal Colour Riche Anti-Aging Lipstick: My Face Looks Younger!”

  1. Kathleen said

    The line about the lipstick not feathering is the key to their claim, I think. That WOULD be a feature worth trumpeting about, since color seeping into the little cracks around your lips does make you look older. Plumping the lips also would make one look youthful since lips tend to flatten and thin out with age. These ARE things that cosmetic technology can do, so I don’t think they’re being misleading. Perhaps a bit overdramatic, but I’m sure their lipstick does mostly do what it says it will.

    • Rosepixie said

      That is an excellent point. I hadn’t thought about the feathering part. I still maintain that the whole thing about the magic stuff in the middle surrounded by color is pretty ridiculous. If they’d said basically what you said in the ad, I’d have been convinced. As it was, they pulled the smoke and mirrors magic science routine and that pretty much always makes me doubt their claims and want to stay away from their product.

Leave a Reply

 
