an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Movie Monday: TiMER

Posted by Rosepixie on April 26, 2010

This is a poster that I came across recently for a movie I had not previously heard of called TiMER.

I found this an incredibly intriguing poster.  It’s simple, but a few details stand out.  The white dress and the phrase “the one” suggest this is a romantic comedy.  Interestingly, however, the guy is conspicuously not in the picture!  His hand is, but he isn’t.  This suggests that his identity is unknown.  Why?

The other detail that really stands out is on the woman’s wrist – the wrist holding the disembodied male hand.  It sort of looks like a watch, but if you look closely, it’s actually part of her or embedded into her skin, not something she’s wearing.  That really got me intrigued, since an embedded electronic device places this pretty squarely in the science fiction camp, which rarely mixes with the romantic comedy crowd due to the long-held and somewhat ridiculous idea that the two genres are incompatible (and that they are gendered oppositely, which is also pretty ridiculous, since genres don’t have genders).

So I’m hooked just from looking at a poster that is fundamentally little more than a woman with no background or context around her, just a red outline around the outside.  That’s great design work.  Whoever designed this poster did an amazing job.  This poster managed to take a movie I had never heard of and make it one I really want to see within a matter of maybe five minutes, just from having a few well placed details!

4 Responses to “Movie Monday: TiMER”

  1. Kathleen said

    And it has Emma Caulfield from Buffy, which is cool. And the TiMER implantation woman in the trailer is the actress who played Anya’s vengeance demon buddy.

    • Rosepixie said

      Yeah, I wondered if someone involved had some connection to Buffy when I saw that, but I haven’t found any specific evidence saying so yet. Still, it’s a cool casting choice!

  2. The implanted timer is discrete, I’m not sure I would have noticed it if you hadn’t called it out. Indeed, my first reaction was, “It’s so small, it’s probably just a badly photographed bracelet.” Of course a quick trip to the the trailer makes it clear that it is, in fact, embedded science fiction tech. And the premise is fascinating.

    The trailer does say “romance,” but not necessarily “romantic comedy.” It reminds me, on one level, of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, another science fiction romance (and a very good, if bittersweet) movie.

  3. Bitter said

    You came up in a search on google: random i know, but i saw this post and just finished watching the movie online and I have to say I enjoyed it a lot. The advertising just made me want to see it and well It wasn’t a waste of time.

Leave a Reply

 
