an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Calvin Klein Eternity: Family and Youth

Posted by Rosepixie on April 14, 2010

This is a magazine ad for the mens and womens fragrances from Calvin Klein both called Eternity.

The text reads:

Eternity

Calvin Klein

What begins here never ends

I noticed this ad in particular because it has something I don’t think I’ve ever seen in another fragrance ad (although I’m sure someone could find me other examples, but the point stands that it’s rare) – children.  This ad doesn’t show a smoky hook-up scene – it shows a family playing and laughing.  It shows love in a totally different context than we usually see it in these ads – not sex, but love.

And I think that’s why it works.  I don’t think I would believe an ad that says something about eternity and shows me what appears to be a scene from a James Bond fantasy or Sex and the City (the show where the main characters famously managed to have sex with something like eighty some different men by like season four).  It shows the kind of love that you can believe does last forever – the kind that forms a family (with or without kids).  The kind that ends up with a little old woman, who died with long-treasured love letters from him in her hands, being buried next to her husband in the family plot while grandchildren and great-grandchildren drop flowers on the casket.

Ok, that got a little darker than maybe I intended, but you know what I mean, right?  The lifetime of love sort of story.  And I love that this perfume/cologne chose to go that way with it’s advertising campaign.  It’s out of the ordinary for the type of product, but not for people or what they want.  Printing the photo is in black and white was a good choice as well since it adds to that ageless feel.

So while I think this ad does fall into some of the traps fragrance ads generally do (young beautiful people!), I also think that it’s much, much better than most of what I see.  What do you think?

Leave a Reply

 
