an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Axe Detailer: Clean Your Balls

Posted by Rosepixie on April 7, 2010

This is one of the most… interesting… commercials I’ve seen in a while.  It’s for the Axe Detailer and was sent to me by a friend of mine who has proved a surprisingly good source of scary, scary ads.

It’s kind of mind-boggling to me that these women agreed to make this ad, but presumably they were paid for it and… well… people do much worse things for money every day.

I must admit that this commercial made me laugh, although probably not for the reasons that the ad executives wanted it to.  And it certainly did not convince me to even consider buying their product (nor did it convince my husband, who actually had a much more negative reaction than I did).  I found it kind of impressive that they could maintain the joke so long, although it did drag a bit in the middle while the model was playing with the golf balls.

Unfortunately, I’m not sure it was a good enough joke to sell what is essentially a loofah for guys (you can tell it’s for guys even without the “clean your balls” commercial because it’s black, has a name like a tool you’d use to work on a car and looks like a tire).  I’m not saying such a product wouldn’t sell, I’m just not sure this is the best way to do it.  One of the big problems is that the commercial made it seem like the only purpose of the product was to clean balls, not to clean all of you, when that is actually what it’s for.  And generally it seems like a bad idea to focus too narrowly when your product does more than just one tiny thing (because, realistically, testicles are not that big a part of your body).

I also found myself a little insulted for the older man near the end of the commercial.  Since when does being older mean you are necessarily dirtier than other people?  It doesn’t actually work that way.

So, what did you think of this ad?

Leave a Reply

 
