an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Target: With Muppets!

Posted by Rosepixie on March 7, 2010

This is part of a multi-billboard display featured on Times Square in New York for Target.  I haven’t been able to find the other parts of the display, but I do know that they did not feature muppets.

I’m not sure what exactly you were supposed to do (perhaps the instructions were on another panel?).  My first thought was that you were supposed to text the ten names to Target, but on closer look, I think you’re just supposed to text “Street” to them and I have no idea why.

Still, it’s fun to see the Honkers on a billboard!  How often do Sesame Street characters make major ad campaigns that aren’t specifically aimed at kids?  Not very often (with the exception of Kermit, who is a cross-over muppet and gets to be in everything and appeal to everybody).

I really don’t have anything else to add to this one.  It’s just a billboard that made me smile, so I decided it was worth highlighting.  Sometimes that’s all you need from an ad – to have it make you smile!  So did this one make you smile, too?

Leave a Reply

 
