an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Vintage Friday: Join the Navy!

Posted by Rosepixie on January 22, 2010

Some of the most interesting pieces of advertising are propaganda and recruitment posters.  I’ve collected a lot of these and they will show up on this blog from time to time.  Today I’ve got a collection of different posters for the Navy.  Most are from around World War II and all give different reasons for joining the Navy.

There’s the obvious reason, to be a part of the action:

And for some people it’s in the family:

Some may ask what they can get from the experience:

Of course, if that’s not enough, there’s always the promise of girls:

And there’s the desire to prove that you’re more manly than a girl:

And, of course, the Navy does actually need some girls, too:

Of course, it’s not always about what the Navy needs, sometimes it’s about what you need:

And then there’s the fact that it just feels great:

And if none of those reasons work for you, maybe you just need to prove that you aren’t missing something!

So which reason would you pick?

Personally, I think that the posters show an interesting variety.  It’s clear that the Navy was spreading it’s net as wide as it could and trying to appeal to as many different kinds of people as possible.  And, of course, this is only a tiny fraction of the Navy recruitment posters produced at the time.  I wonder who’s job it was to make them?  Some of them are certainly very beautiful.  The “Heritage” one with the ship is especially pretty.

Do you have a favorite?  Which one is it and why?

4 Responses to “Vintage Friday: Join the Navy!”

  1. Kathleen said

    I had that “Gee, I wish I were a man” advert as a poster in my dorm. I got it from my mother who used to have it in HER dorm. I’m thinking about framing it and putting it in my kitchen. I don’t know why it amuses me so but I love it. It’s just so…foreign-thinking now.

  2. […] by Rosepixie on January 24, 2010 A few days ago I looked at some vintage Navy recruitment posters.  Well the armed forces certainly haven’t stopped recruiting and still need ads.  Each […]

  3. azgurl said

    This posters are great. I like the Navy nurse one it shows the woman as being strong.

Leave a Reply

 
