an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Dunhill Black: Oooh! A Car!

Posted by Rosepixie on December 16, 2009

This is a commercial for Dunhill Black, a fragrance, that was pointed out to me by a friend of mine.

I seriously wondered if this was a car ad until the very end.  I mean, it wouldn’t be the most informative of car ads, but many are about this useful.  Car ads often try to sell their cars on the basis of “ooh! sexy car!”, and that really, honestly seemed to be what this was doing.

I’m still kind of baffled about how it is trying to sell a fragrance, I’m not sure who the fragrance is for (further research suggests it’s for the guy, but the ad didn’t tell me that AT ALL), and there’s really no information here at all.  Pretty woman, handsome man, hot car, slick streets, nice location shots, but somehow this does not add up to cologne.

Maybe I just don’t get it and clearly, if this is a fragrance for men, it’s not for me anyway, but personally I don’t think this ad works.  It made me want to know what the car was, not what cologne he was wearing.

Leave a Reply

 
