an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Garmin

Posted by Rosepixie on December 12, 2009

This ad was brought to my attention by a friend of mine and is a holiday commercial for Garmin GPS systems.

This is easily one of the most crack-addled and off topic commercials I’ve seen in a while.  The first time I watched it I couldn’t even follow what the song was saying (probably because I was so busy being confused by the images).  I’ve watched it a few times now and I understand the words to the song and it still doesn’t really make sense.

Each person is sort of either going somewhere or keeping track of somewhere (except the squirrel, he seems just kind of… there?), but that doesn’t actually mean it has anything to do with Garmin.  In fact, Garmin seems to the wrong technology for their needs for the most part.  The first person, the knight in the station wagon (if you haven’t watched it, I told you it didn’t make sense), is the only one who really has a dilemma that requires a Garmin.  The Leprechaun running the triathlon probably wants a pedometer, but he doesn’t need to know where he’s going or where he is because the race tells him.  The yeti just needs a camera, or a phone with one.  The golfer needs a little golf aid that helps calculate and line up shots (those exist).  The squirrel needs… an audience?  I don’t know.

Like I said, it’s a confusing and strange ad.  Most importantly, I really don’t think that it works for Garmin.  While Garmin may do all the things listed above for all I know, the commercial didn’t tell me that it did, so even now I’m not sure.  And the song was hard to follow, so the first few times I watched it, I was too buy trying to figure out what the hell was going on to care about what it was a commercial for.  So while this gets points for creativity and maybe cuteness (for the squirrel), it fails at what it really needs to do – sell me Garmin products either for me or for my family and friends as gifts.

2 Responses to “Garmin”

  1. Eva said

    Garmin does make all the things you mentioned in that next to last paragraph (even high end phones, apparently). I think the ad was meant to help raise the general awareness that they sell all sorts of things other than GPS navigation systems. It’s obviously not achieving that goal, but they are trying to sell you actual Garmin products (see their website: http://www.garmin.com/garmin/cms/site/us).

    I agree that the song is too fast (and I think it starts way to abruptly at the beginning), but I found the ad really amusing. I’m already a Garmin fan, but like you, I don’t think the ad would have told me that they make all those other things. It was too fast and some of the imagery was too inexplicable. I’m going to file it under good general idea for a humor commercial to broaden brand awareness, with rather poor actual execution.

  2. […] Garmin « an Ad a Day […]

Leave a Reply

 
