an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Movie Monday: Motherhood

Posted by Rosepixie on December 7, 2009

This trailer for the movie Motherhood was brought to my attention by a friend of mine.

I’m not sure about this trailer.  I have no idea how well it works as a piece of marketing for this movie in particular, since I haven’t seen the movie, but I do find it a little troublesome.

First of all, after watching it a couple of times I still have no idea what the actual plot of this movie is.  My first thought was that maybe it has something to do with her trying to write about parenting, but that’s so glossed over it seems likely (unless they’re deliberately avoiding the focus of their film?).  Now I’m wondering if maybe it’s something about learning to love or hate being a stay at home mom (and I’m not really sure which?).

Several very hurtful (and unfortunately commonly said) things are said in the trailer about stay-at-home moms, but only one of them is at all portrayed here as being hurtful, which makes me wonder if the movie doesn’t recognize how hurtful they are or if they just didn’t put the acknowledgement of that fact into the trailer.

The chaos of kids is definitely there, but I don’t get a whole lot of a sense of the rewards they bring and that makes me wonder if this movie ultimately has a negative view of motherhood.  Hopefully it’s better than I fear, but the trailer just doesn’t give much in the way of information, so it’s hard to be sure.

Unfortunately for the movie makers, the lack of information this particular trailer gave left me feeling more like this movie would make me angry or upset me than would be worth seeing to find out the answers to the questions it left (plot? outlook?).  So it didn’t sell the movie very well to me.  It made my husband leave the room in disgust after the woman in the park commented that no one admits to being a stay-at-home mom.  What do you think?

One Response to “Movie Monday: Motherhood”

  1. Eva said

    I get the feeling that this trailer is going to read wildly differently to people with different experiences. I got the impression the comment that upset your husband was meant to sound over the top and vicious (in a “wow, what a nasty thing to say even if you _were_ thinking it” sort of way). My guess at the target audience would have been moms in their 20’s through 40’s (which is obviously not me).

    Overall the trailer gave me the impression that the movie was going to be a feel good story about the struggles of an urban mom, who loves her family, but is pulled about from all sides because of the inherent difficulty of her job (being a full-time primary caregiver) and the attitudes of society. My guess is that she’s going to go on some sort of journey of discovery about what being a mom means to her, possibly write a book (or a newspaper column or something), since that’s mentioned, and end up with some kind of heartwarming lesson at the end (along the lines of “things really were ok the way they were and I should ignore obnoxious jerks in the park”).

Leave a Reply

 
