an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Dooney and Bourke: Upsetting Purses

Posted by Rosepixie on November 22, 2009

This is an ad for Dooney and Bourke, a fashion line, from a women’s fashion magazine.

I understand why fashion lines put famous actresses in their ads – people want to be glamorous like the actresses and if the clothing get associated they might buy it to feel that way.  What I don’t understand is how this ad showing the actress looking so very distressed or depressed (clearly very unhappy) is really going to help sell clothing.  I mean, the models don’t always need to be smiling their faces off, but who thought that associating such a look of “I’m thinking about how short life is because my friend just died in a meaningless car crash” was a good look for the ad?

Obviously I’m reading a lot of story into the look, but that’s what this ad makes me want to do.  It does not make me want to have any more interest in the clothing, handbag or company behind them than I had before.  In fact, when I decided to do this ad today, I had to go looking for it because I couldn’t remember what company it was for, just who the actress was and the look on her face, and my files aren’t organized that way.  This ad does make me think of stories behind why she might have that expression, though.  In that way, it’s a great ad.  It definitely sticks in my head and makes me want to come back and think about it.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t sell the product nearly as well as it sells the actress.

2 Responses to “Dooney and Bourke: Upsetting Purses”

  1. Eva said

    Her face sort of says daydreaming to me, but it also didn’t catch my eye until you pointed it out. I was too busy thinking, “Holy Crap, is she lying on a pile of white jelly beans or some sort of huge mutant white anemone? WTH?” That’s probably not what they wanted me to see in their ad either! 😛

  2. Ladybagz said

    Aah this is why I read your blog 😀

Leave a Reply

 
