an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Breast Cancer PSAs: Missing the Mark?

Posted by Rosepixie on November 21, 2009

These are two recent public service announcement ads about breast cancer put out by two different organizations.  Both are very recent.

This one is from the Men for Women Now Campaign:

This one is from ReThink Breast Cancer:

Both of these made me cringe.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for bring attention and respect to serious medical conditions that very much need more research, but I really have my doubts that either of these ads does much to further that goal.  I get that they’re trying to make young men care about a disease that they, personally, will never suffer from, but I really find this approach kind of offensive.  The first ad is decidedly less obnoxious than the second, but it still kind of makes it a joke and further “others” women, their bodies and any conditions they suffer from that men don’t.  The second ad doesn’t even acknowledge the women at all, it just reduces them to walking boobs.

This does not seem like a helpful or respectful approach.  What do you think?

2 Responses to “Breast Cancer PSAs: Missing the Mark?”

  1. Eva said

    I love public service announcements that equate my attractiveness to how much you should want to keep me alive… awesome strategy, really… *sigh*

  2. Terri said

    There’s definitely cringing. However, I find the first one actually a little endearing in the way it tries to find a humourous way to show “hey, mammograms aren’t scary; it’s just a little squishing; no problem.” Since I know a lot of women who really freak out about having to do any sort of medical testing, that seems like it’s a pretty valuable message. My knee-jerk reaction was “why the heck would you hire Jack Black for this?” but after watching him try to squish his boob into the mammogram machine, I had to admit, he did make it seem laughable rather than Scary Medical Procedure. And that message works on guys too: if it’s not something scary, then it should be easy to talk to your sister, mother, etc. about scheduling an appointment.

Leave a Reply

 
