an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Dungeons and Dragons Online: Not Cute

Posted by Rosepixie on November 2, 2009

I saw this banner ad on a political webpage (of all strange places) that I really wanted to post about here.  I, unfortunately didn’t get good shots of the banner ad and was very sad.  I mentioned this to my wonderful husband and he was able to find me something even better!  Apparently they used the same images from the banner ad for a commercial!  Here it is:

When I first saw the banner ad, I had no idea what I was looking at an ad for until it got to the end.  Obviously, it’s an ad for Dungeons and Dragons Online, a massively multiplayer game based on the classic pen and paper RPG.

This ad is so awesome I can’t even explain it.  The cuteness paired with the horrible beholder was perfect.  It totally got me to want to play DDO, which is quite a feat since I’ve played DDO before and thought it was a good game, but I wasn’t impressed enough to stick around.  Of course, it’s had a huge make-over since then, so it’s probably totally different and I should try it again.  But this ad’s awesomeness was too great not to share, so here it is.  Hopefully this ad will be in more places in the future!

Oh, and I think that the DDO people should totally make t-shirts of this.  Wouldn’t a “broccoli or the beholder?” t-shirt be great?  I’d buy one.

2 Responses to “Dungeons and Dragons Online: Not Cute”

  1. Hi I just wondered whether you had looked at selling advertising on your blog.I’m guessing you could do allright out of it.

    • Rosepixie said

      I haven’t put a whole lot of thought into it, honestly. I might look into it if/when I start seeing more traffic (which is definitely starting to happen), but even then, given the topic of this blog, I think I’d have to be pretty selective about the ads I allowed on here! It wouldn’t really do to host an ad and then make fun of it!

Leave a Reply

 
