an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Movie Monday: The Last Airbender

Posted by Rosepixie on October 26, 2009

This is a trailer for The Last Airbender, which is based on the first season of the amazing Nickelodeon show Avatar: The Last Airbender.

The voice over for this trailer talks a lot… and says basically nothing.  That’s really what struck me after watching this.  It gives absolutely no information at all.  We don’t get the kid’s name, any information about who he is or why he’s important or what he does or why the world needs a savior or… anything.  It’s kind of disappointing.  And one of the biggest strengths of the show is the awesome ensemble cast, of which there is no sign in this trailer.  I’m betting a lot of fans won’t be going to see Aang (the kid shown here), they’ll be going to see one of the other main characters.  But there isn’t even a hint that they will be there!  And for people who aren’t fans, they’ve got to be clueless after this trailer!  It gives no reasons to go see the movie!  What’s going on?  Who is this kid?  What’s with the circle of candles?

The fleet of ships did look awesome (and just like the Fire Nation ships in the show), but they totally couldn’t save this pitiful trailer, in my opinion.

Anyone else have any other opinions about this one?  Is there anyone who wants to go see the movie because of this trailer?  Why?

4 Responses to “Movie Monday: The Last Airbender”

  1. Kathleen said

    I had no idea this was based on anything, let alone a kid’s show. I couldn’t tell that the character was a kid at all! The VoiceOver made the premise sound lame and trite. I saw this preview weeks ago and basically dismissed it as uninteresting. What you’ve described sounds very different from the impression I got!

    • Rosepixie said

      The show is amazing, Kathleen. Definitely check it out! You can get it from Netflix and it is *so* worth watching! The characters and plot and world are so rich and interesting. Michael was shocked that it was an American show, much less one from Nickelodeon! Make Brian watch it too!

  2. Eva said

    We’re still part way through the final season of the TV show and my feelings about the movie are mixed enough I’m not sure I could give this ad a fair trial (as it were). I agree with you that it tells you absolutely jack about the parts of the movie that would sell it to audiences who haven’t seen the show. It looks to me like shoehorning a complex story into the “action” genre the same way you’ve talked about horror movies being marketed as “sexy” despite it being against their best interests.

    I do need to add, I’m still angry enough about the casting choices in the movie that I don’t think I’m going to go see it regardless of what they publicize it as. Based on the casting of Katara I get the feeling that they will have gutted the core essence of the story that I love. I don’t think I could stand to see something so extraordinary turned into just another piece of Hollywood trash.

    • Rosepixie said

      The casting has been a huge controversy. For a great site breaking down details about at least one major aspect of it, check out Racebending.com. They do a fantastic job of looking at the show and the characters and then what the movie has changed. Very interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

 
