an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Halls: You Did What With My Mom?

Posted by Rosepixie on October 3, 2009

This is a commercial for Halls Refresh and I found it online.

This commercial somehow makes me uneasy.  Even though nothing happens between the mom and the roommate, it’s clear what they’re trying to get at here.  I don’t think they’re really implying that anything has or will happen necessarily, just that they want you to understand the innuendos being made and laugh as they imply a more serious situation.  The problem is that it’s more than a little creepy.  I mean, this commercial would never have been made with the genders reversed (dad and female 18-year-old roommate).  I get that the expectations are different for men and women, but I still don’t see how that makes this ok.  And the fact that it’s so creepy really just makes me want to have nothing to do with it.  I certainly have no interest in buying the product and, depending on how long this commercial stays in my memory, I may continue to have negative associations with the product for a very long time.  I don’t think that this was a good move by the marketing department at all!

2 Responses to “Halls: You Did What With My Mom?”

  1. Kathleen said

    Yeah. Totally agree. Ew.

  2. jo said

    I agree. I have written to the company and received a reply stating that they had done research and thought this was a good way to present the product. They also said they would be monitoring responses to the ad. I still find it offensive and will definitely not be buying this product or any other by Cadbury for quite a while.

Leave a Reply

 
