an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

New England Patriots: Cheers Brings Everyone Together

Posted by Rosepixie on October 1, 2009

This is a commercial for the New England Patriots celebrating 50 years (of the team, I’m assuming, although it feels more like an ad for the stadium) and I heard about it on Twitter (since I’m nowhere near the area where this commercial was probably aired).

I love the concept of this ad.  It’s using a familiar song from a show that was mega-popular to the point of being almost iconic and famously set in the city where the Patriots play which also happens to convey the sentiments they want – that they are familiar, comfortable, inviting and a staple of the community and people’s lives.  I also like that they actually have the people portrayed singing, not professionals (even though it means that we get to hear how terrible their cheerleaders’ singing voices apparently are).  It’s cute that they got some of the actors from the show, to further tie the song, show and team together.  I like this ad.  It works.  Even the bad singing works, since it does make the people in the commercial easier to connect to.  Everyone knows people who can’t sing, so it makes it real.  Usually this type of ad strikes me as really cheesy, but this one really works and I like it.  And I never thought I’d say that about an ad for a football team!

Leave a Reply

 
