an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Samsung Go: Do Your Homework at the Party!

Posted by Rosepixie on September 13, 2009

This ad was found on a news website and is for Samsung Go laptops.

Samsung Netbooks 1The text reads:

You just got invited to the beach, but you need to write your English paper.

– Stay

– Go

Samsung Go

When I first saw this ad I thought it was suggesting that you could get your homework done really fast with a Samsung laptop and still make it to the party at the beach, but after looking at it again I’m pretty sure it’s suggesting you take the laptop to the party and do your homework there.  Which I’m certain is a great idea.  Given that I was confused by this ad and that what it’s suggesting is actually pretty stupid, I have to wonder what the marketer who designed this was thinking.  And the guy looks freakish and weird, like the some horrible Photoshop accident happened to him (notice how the head seems like it doesn’t belong to this particular body?).

3 Responses to “Samsung Go: Do Your Homework at the Party!”

  1. Kathleen said

    I like the font!

  2. Eva said

    Yea, the guy they put in that picture was a bad call. Besides his freakish floating photoshop head, he mostly makes me think “Samsung = grumpy guy who doesn’t want to talk to me stuck in a dark featureless room”… probably not what they were going for.

    Perhaps they would have done better if he’d been excitedly packing for a weekend trip to the beach? (You know, suitcase or bag with clothes and computer? Happy smiling guy with a sunny window in the background?) Then it would be more obvious that he could both do hw sometimes and have fun sometimes because he was able to take his computer with him! 🙂

  3. Terri said

    I’m embarrassed to admit that I’ve totally done the bring the laptop to the party thing.

    But it certainly wouldn’t be the selling point for a laptop to me. Well, except for that one time where a friend’s daughter decided she should crawl into my lap and I taught her to use the webcam rather than doing my work. That was seriously adorable and could totally sell work-at-a-party laptops. 😉

Leave a Reply

 
