an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Minute Maid: Making You Less Stupid

Posted by Rosepixie on September 9, 2009

This ad was found in a men’s magazine and is for Minute Maid Fruit Juice  (specifically the blended varieties).

Minute Maid 1
The text reads:

Oops Someone forgot to boost

Don’t Oops your way through life.  Nourish your brain and your body with the power of real fruit juice enhanced with Omega-3/DHA and four other nutrients.  Be the best you you can be.

Put Good In.  Get Good Out.

One of three uniquely boosted blends.

(trademark information)

I’m pretty sure this ad promises that Minute Maid juice will make you less stupid, or at least less prone to doing stupid things.  The details of the image are especially funny.  The man is laughing at the poor guy who’s just walked into the door, while the woman is looking at him like there’s something seriously wrong with him.  I hadn’t noticed the face and hand-prints on the door before, either, but they make the guy seem even more stupid and childish (they’re like perfect little kid hand-prints).

This is obviously a business setting.  I’ve never seen a guy drinking juice (especially Minute Maid, which seems more commonly associated with after-soccer-practice snacks for little kids) in a professional setting like this.  Coffee, yes.  Water, sure.  Soda or an energy drink, why not?  But juice?  Not really.  Still, this is cool “makes you less stupid” juice, right?  But it still looks like a bottle of grape juice.

Edit:

Another ad from this campaign has been posted here.

12 Responses to “Minute Maid: Making You Less Stupid”

  1. Eva said

    I find this kind of ad really awkward, because I find it hard to laugh at this sort of physically painful misfortune (however comically staged). I did like some of their TV commercials in this campaign though. They did a sort of before and after showing the horrible tragedy, and then how it was all better when the person had juice! 😛

  2. Beasley said

    This is a horrible ad. For one thing, the fact that the female has an uncalled for look of disgust-contempt on her face reeks of dysfunction on her part. Same with the guy who cannot get off the phone to render help but instead stands there laughing. Beyond that, however, is the strange powdery substance that the guy on the floor must have had on his face and hands in order to leave such clear marks on the glass. It defies logic and physics as to how the guy was apparently holding items then smacked into the glass long enough to make an impression on it and then, after falling, still has those items proximate to his body rather than at the base of the glass partition. Did his hands absorb no impact? Maybe the overall campaign was good but this particular print ad is simply horrible and not at all thought out.

  3. Rosepixie said

    I’m not sure I’d attribute her expression to dysfunction, although it is certainly not reflecting well on her. I don’t see a phone in the other guy’s hand, but I guess I can see why you would assume he had one. I considered commenting on the impossibility of the man having been able to hold all those objects, leave the hand prints as they appear and drop them where they are, but I somehow didn’t end up doing it. But, yeah, it all just adds to the stupidity. This is truly an awful ad image, although it’s also probably the most popular one I’ve got on here after the Batman commercial!

  4. Beasley said

    I’m guessing the image is as popular as it is simply *because* it IS so bad! LOL! 😉 Maybe that’s what Minute-Maid [the Coca Cola company] was going for?! Additionally, I agree that my use of the word “dysfunctional” is not totally accurate but, well, I’m guessing it gets the point across (generally speaking).

    I think it’s pretty clear, by suggestion, that the “laughing guy” is one of those sorts who is always attached to his cel-phone given body posture and the angle of his arm. Whether he is on the phone or is simply scratching his ear is kind of irrelevant, though….the thrust of my point is that he’s laughing at someone on the ground who may very well be injured. And that the female appears to be walking away [her foot is clearly moving forward] shows a lack of concern on her part.

    I’m not so sure how “stupidity” works into the equation, though. Is it “stupid” to slip and fall on ice….or on any unseen unstable surface, for example? How, then, is it stupid to not see an unmarked clear glass panel? Ultimately, how can Minute-Maid suggest that drinking their grape juice could have prevented any of this?

    What gets me about this ad is how poorly it was executed. Powdery hands and face apparently on the victim? Dropped objects falling where they could not otherwise possibly fall? I’m inclined to think that the “stupidity” label belongs to the agency that created this atrocious ad.

  5. Beasley said

    (postscript) I’m just now thinking….hopefully the agency responsible for this ad will read your blog and, perhaps, realize that the part of their audience they are hoping to attract is not as dumb as they think they are.

    Or….is that what they want? /Hmmmmm….. 😉

  6. Rosepixie said

    Out of curiosity, Beasley, why do you call the men in the image “guys” and the woman a “female”? That strikes me as odd.

    I agree that their illustration of stupidity here isn’t very good, but it’s clearly the implied message. How juice would solve either stupidity or mishaps like the one pictured, however, is a bit of a mystery to me. That’s part of why I really don’t understand this ad.

  7. Beasley said

    “Out of curiosity, Beasley, why do you call the men in the image “guys” and the woman a “female”? That strikes me as odd.”

    # # #

    I agree. And that’s a good question! In the case of this ad, I seem to be using the term “guys” in a more-or-less pejorative way for the males in general but, in actuality, towards the “laughing dork” specifically.

    I think I referred to the gal [insert alternate euphemisms here if you’d rather] as a “female” as a way to NOT focus on her (though I still think it’s sad that how she was photographed).

    I realize, in retrospect, that some of what I wrote could be misinterpreted. Having said that…..please give me the benefit of “intent” rather than reading into it too much. 😉

  8. Rosepixie said

    I wasn’t trying to read to much into it, it’s just something I noticed. 🙂

  9. Eno said

    The irony is that this whole ad is being read too much into. lol
    Not every ad is going to be logical or portray people in a realistic manner. That being said…This juice is awesome. lol

  10. […] by Rosepixie on December 13, 2009 Previously I posted an ad from Minute Maid’s “Oops, Forgot to Boost” campaign.  Today I have another print ad from that campaign.  I might post a commercial from it in the […]

  11. […] want to stay as far away from the people who made this ad as possible.  Especially when taken with the first ad for this campaign that I talked about which showed a guy hurting himself and two people looking at him like he was an idiot and, notably, […]

  12. Erika Ellis said

    I am the girl in the ad. I was asked to look disinterested/shocked while walking and pushing a heavy glass door to simulate that of a “business setting” while a guy who hadn’t had his Minute Maid “boost” smacked his oiled up face and hands into the glass door next to me. Cheesy? yes. Do I typically look that awkward? I hope not.

    One of the previous posters nailed it when they said that the point that Minute Maid is trying to make is that if you drink their juice you will be more alert in these settings where optimum concentration is needed.

Leave a Reply

 
