an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Dell Laptops: Little Pieces of Hard Candy!

Posted by Rosepixie on September 2, 2009

This is a television commercial for Dell’s brightly colored and clearly labeled laptops.

I think this is a surprisingly effective ad.  It doesn’t give you any details, but since they have several different sizes and types of laptops that all essentially look the same, it’s hardly necessary.  The point is that it makes the laptops look cute and appealing.  It also conveys that they are fun and inexpensive, which some Dell laptops are.  I think of the Minis, Dell’s netbook-sized laptops when I see this.  Besides, when you’re buying a laptop, you’re going to need more information than can realistically be fit into a 30 second TV spot anyway.  This gets the point across – laptops can be fun on the outside, regardless of what’s inside.

3 Responses to “Dell Laptops: Little Pieces of Hard Candy!”

  1. Eva said

    I still can’t get Alan’s initial reaction to this ad out of my head. “Dell: Our laptops are colored poo that was stomped on by elephants!” 😛

  2. Eva beat me to my point! But, yeah, stomped elephant poo.

    Other than that, it’s a cute ad and I like it. Even if I believe laptops, like other consumer electronics, should be black. 🙂

  3. Hi there,
    Nice post, I just stumbled upon it and I am already a fan.

Leave a Reply

 
