an Ad a Day

A look at the marketing that surrounds us.

Movie Monday: Robin Hood

Posted by Rosepixie on January 11, 2010

So I saw a trailer for Robin Hood before Avatar in December, but I’m not sure which trailer it was.  This might have been it.  Clearly it was memorable.

Do you know what I got out of this movie?  Not a whole lot.  It appears to be Gladiator only not Roman, but it also doesn’t really seem to have anything to do with any version of the Robin Hood legend that I’m familiar with.  Even the lines sound like Gladiator.  And the trailer doesn’t offer much more than that comparison, so if you weren’t a big fan of Gladiator, I don’t think this trailer is really aimed at you (or me, since I didn’t like that movie very much).

This gives no indication of plot, pretty costumes or settings or cinematography (although it seems to have lots of bloody battles, if you like that sort of thing), or any actor but Crowe getting much screen time.  In fact, if it weren’t for the fact that I’ve heard costume sites musing on this movie, I doubt I’d remember anyone else who was in it after seeing that trailer.

So personally, I think this trailer fails.  I have no idea if the movie will be any good or not.  Anyone else have any thoughts after seeing this trailer?

2 Responses to “Movie Monday: Robin Hood”

  1. Kathleen said

    I saw a trailer for Robin Hood before Sherlock Holmes and it wasn’t this one. This one is the better of the two since it gives you more context and Robin Hoodiness than just battles in the forest. I’m still not looking forward to it because as you said, it does look a lot like Gladiator and its Ridley Scott ilk, which I don’t care for. Bummer. At least it looks like Marian gets to do more than just be a damsel in distress.

    • Rosepixie said

      I did find the “battles in the forest” one when I was looking for the one I saw. I’m not sure this is the one that was before Avatar either, but it had more face close-ups than the battle one did and this one has that. I just don’t remember all the talking. But I don’t remember much of it because my primary response wasn’t very positive. I also appreciate that it does appear that Marian gets to do stuff, though. I’m just not sure that’s enough to get me to watch it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

